Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Winter Harvest Cookbook Corrections

The good news is that a second printing is planned for Winter Harvest. That’s really gratifying. 

The embarrassing corollary is that in going through the book to mark any needed changes before the presses roll again, I found I had made some careless errors in labeling that were not caught during editing.  My intention was only to label recipes that are vegan or gluten-free “by nature,” meaning that you don’t need to modify them or to shop selectively for condiments or prepared ingredients. I did not always follow through with that.  Especially if you are following a vegan or gluten-free diet and you have a first printing copy of the revised edition, please note the following: 

Broccoli Yogurt Soup on p. 53 is not vegetarian unless you substitute vegetable broth for the chicken broth.

Oyster Parsnip Stew on p. 75 is generally gluten-free as most brands of bacon are, but you need to check the label. 

Broccoli Dal Curry on p. 122 is not gluten free unless you omit the flour. To do that and still get the same texture, mash some of the lentils into the liquid when you make the sauce. 

Brussels Sprouts in Lemon Curry Sauce on p. 161 is vegetarian but may not be gluten free depending on the chili powder. 

Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Sweet Potatoes on p. 163 may not be gluten free, depending on the soy sauce and hot sauce. There are gluten-free versions of both, but you need to check. 

Dry Spinach Curry on p. 212 is not vegan if you are using ghee.

On the other hand
There also are some more gluten-free and vegetarian or vegan options that I forgot to label as such  in the rush to publication. Here they are:
Beet Salad with Garlic Sauce on p. 81 is vegetarian and gluten free.

Tibetan Salad on p. 93 is vegetarian.

Rutachoke Salad on p. 96 is gluten free.

Polenta-Stuffed Cabbage on p. 106 is vegetarian.

Jerusalem Artichokes with Rice on p. 187 is vegan and gluten free.

of course Kale Sprouts on p. 190 is vegan and gluten free, since it is ingredient free except for the kale.

Mint Chutney on p. 234 is vegan and gluten free.

Ghee, another one-ingredient recipe on p. 236, is vegetarian and gluten-free.

The idea behind the labeling was not that cooks can’t figure out what’s what for themselves, but to save time for busy people. I’m sorry if I caused any glitches in your dinner preparations.

No comments: